A Special Invitation for The New Year

I’ve been reading a lot of articles about the phenomenon of groups that study Scripture and/or talk theology in local bars, and would like to try to organize a group myself. What I’m thinking of is very informal, gathering at 6:30PM in mid town Kansas City for a fine brew, an appetizer and some sharing on the Bible. This Thursday, January 9 is when I’d like to kick it off.

The scripture for the first gathering is 1 Corinthians 13. It’s usually read at weddings, however it’s a remarkable standard for living together as Christians. Definitely worth pondering and unpacking together. Although I’m a Catholic priest and most of my friends are Catholic, I’m not going to limit it to my denomination: come if you don’t mind talking about the Bible in a bar. We’re here to share and not to preach to each other. I’ll share some background, but what matters is how we encounter the text together.

The place we’re going has a nice selection of beer, and the start time is designed to begin during Happy Hour, so the fine brews and appetizers will be half price for the first half hour. I’m keeping the place secret because I want you to contact me to let me know you’re coming. This is the figure out how many tables to push together initially. Also it’s because it’s not a great idea to make public every detail of your plans online, for safety’s sake. A Facebook message will get to me quickly, as will an e-mail.

If I’ve talked with you about this last month, I haven’t changed my mind about the place, so if you don’t get hold of me know my intention’s consistent. If you already know where, I won’t get mad if you just show up.

If we have a good time and want to continue, I’d like to do this on the second Thursday of each month, weather permitting.  If the place works out I’d rather hang out in one place regularly, but I’m not set on that.

I want to specially invite the Avila community, my friends at Jerusalem Farm, my brothers and sisters in the Precious Blood community, and any of my musician friends who don’t have a gig or a rehearsal that evening. In these days, I think we need more intergenerational encounters, so please come as long as you’re over 21 and let’s share our different perspectives. We have God’s Word in common no matter what our age is, and we can all learn from each other with the prompting of the Spirit. We are all God’s children every moment of our lives, and we have more in common than not.

So if you’re free on Thursday, 6:30 PM and want to talk about the Bible while savoring a fine brew, please get hold of me and join us. BYOB–bring your own Bible; separate checks on the libations.

2 comments

  1. Timothy Deveney · · Reply

    Father Keith,

    Good morning again.

    I assume that you are okay with me passing this invitation on to our volunteers, right?

    Peace, Tim Deveney

    From: homiliesandstraythoughts Reply-To: homiliesandstraythoughts Date: Monday, January 6, 2014 at 10:19 AM To: Timothy Deveney Subject: [New post] A Special Invitation for The New Year

    WordPress.com kbcpps posted: “I’ve been reading a lot of articles about the phenomenon of groups that study Scripture and/or talk theology in local bars, and would like to try to organize a group myself. What I’m thinking of is very informal, gathering at 6:30PM in mid town Kansas Cit”

  2. Gerry Downs · · Reply

    Wish I lived closer!

Leave a Reply

