Beginning

Knowing where to start is always a tough choice. This blog is something I’ve been thinking about for the past few months, and I’m eager to share thoughts with you, but the starting point. . .

I’m going to post about three times per week. I’m calling this a Preaching Blog; like the founder of my community, St. Gaspar del Bufalo, preaching is my main vocation, and this will be a medium for that. On Saturday night/Sunday I’ll put up a Homily based on the readings from the Catholic Lectionary for that day. If there’s a major feast during the week, like Annunciation, I may put one of there as well. On Wednesday I’ll put up some reflections on a topic connected with living as a spiritual person that I’ll call Stray Thoughts. I’m a Missionary of the Precious Blood and a Catholic priest, so that’s my starting point, but if my comments are relevant or helpful to anyone else from a non-Catholic or non-Christian point of view, great. On Friday I’ll put up some links to stories that’s I’ve found interesting during the week.

 I’m not going to use this blog to talk a lot about myself, unless there’s something I think would be helpful in making a point, so I’m going to avoid offering purely personal stories and opinions great and small as much as I can. The topics may wander, since I can’t foresee the future, and almost everything relates to Faith in one way or another. Karl Barth once said, in effect, everyone is a theologian, and I’ll buy that even though I’m not a huge fan of his. But it’s not Anything Goes, either; John Cage once said everything is Music, and although technically he’s right, I’m not writing a Sonata for Jackhammer and Chainsaw (with or without earplugs).

Charity is something very important to me, and I will strive to be Charitable in everything I say here. If I’m not, you can call me out on it. Fair warning, though: I’m going to screen comments before they appear, and if I think a comment is uncharitable or inappropriate, it won’t be here.

See you on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

