Reconstructing for now

In the course of the past few months,, I’ve taken on a part time job to go with being Chaplain at Avila.  I find the challenge of being Publications Editor for the Kansas City Province of the Missionaries of the Precious Blood a great challenge and I’m still working out how this is done.  It’s meant a new routine of deadlines and priorities, and getting into this new flow is an ongoing process. At this point, I see I need to reconstruct my writing priorities for a while, which means I won’t be here as much as I have been before.

When I started this blog, I had no other regular writing commitments, so the pace of 3 posts per week was easy and researching the article summary a pleasure. Although I still love keeping track of what’s going on, my time to do this has decreased, and doesn’t look to expand in the near future.

This means I won’t be posting here as often as I have.  I’ll still put up a homily for Sundays and Holy days, but I won’t be doing as many Stray Thoughts or surveying for stories.  I doubt I’ll be able to give up either completely, but I don’t think the current weekly schedule is possible for a while.  If you’re not following this blog, here or on Facebook, you may want to sign up now so you’ll know when I am able to get new material up. I’ll still let you know on Facebook when new stuff is up.

I will be contributing to the various Precious Blood sites and journals, and I’ll start providing links to them before long.  I’m also happy to chat with anyone privately on any topic, and share anything interesting that comes from that.  If there’s something you’d like  me to talk about, just let me know.

My Twitter handle is @padrekb.  Many of the articles I’ve been collecting over the past year have been popping up there, and I will do more retweeting of articles in lieu of the Friday posting.  The main sites I’ve been looking at (many of which are on Twitter) are: Catholic News Service, Religion News Service, Millennial Journal, National Catholic Reporter and Whispers in the Loggia.  I’ll keep looking at them, and warmly advise any reader who wants to keep current to do the same.

Hopefully, this new routine will work out by the end of the summer and I can be a bit more regular again.  Thank you for following me here so far, and I look forward to continuing our conversation as time permits.

One comment

  1. Monica Chapman · · Reply

    I will truly miss you, but wish you blessings as you give more time to your “job”. Come “visit” us whenever you can! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

