Stories I’ve Found, 10/19/2012

Interesting stories I’ve found lately:

This WordPress blog will follow everything that happened 50 years ago at Vatican II day by day. I was only seven when it started, and my agenda in those days was Second Grade.

 
The Get Religion blog reviews an article about the holiest place in Greece: Mount Athos.  Capturing the sense of a place like this is almost impossible, but the article reviewed provides so little I wonder what they heck they were writing about (the author of the review did as well). If a reporter for an article like this understands so little of what they’re writing about on this subject, how can they be trusted on other subjects?

Shall We Stone Children? A Look at Dominionism unpacks a couple of concepts at the intersection of Faith and community: Dominionism and Reconstructionism. Both of these concepts seem frightening to me, and I will forego snide comments about Arkansas politics and the state representatives that have made news during this campaign. I advocate neither of these positions, since there would seem to be no room for compassion here.

The Religious Freedom Education website has an authoritative document for those with questions about Islam: “What is the Truth About American Muslims?” Questions and Answers.” A good resource for those who need it.

The New Evangelization Needs Profanity? *&#@! yes, this caught my eye. After reading it twice, I think the author’s on to something, although I’m not sure I agree with him entirely. We are living in an age of confrontation over everything, and managing confrontations that can change hearts isn’t easy. At least, I like to pick which hills I die on, as I hope most of us would. But he has some interesting things to say about the provocative nature of Jesus and His ministry that come from solid exegesis.

How do different denominations view each other?  This chart will help, and provide a chuckle.

There are two books I’ve been working on that I’ve found illuminating. One I just finished and one I’m starting:

The book I finished recently is Marcus Borg’s Evolution of the Word: The New Testament Book in the Order They Were Written ISBN 978-0-06-208210-7 The journey is worthwhile, not only for a chance to re-read the entire New Testament, but to share the author’s successful exploration of how the early Christian movement developed in the first century of its existence. The ordering of some of the books was surprising to me, but even with switching them around a little, beginning with the seven authentic letters of Paul and ending with Second Peter gives a far different feel than starting with Matthew and ending with Revelation. I would imagine if you disagree with his ordering, you can reorder the books to a timeline you feel more accurate: it would still provide a fascinating faith journey through the Word in order of creation.

The book I’m starting and will likely take a while to finish is Stephen Prothero’s The American Bible: How Our Words Unite, Divide and Define A Nation ISBN 978-0-06-212343-5 It’s a collection of speeches, letters, stories and documents from the entire breadth of U. S. History grouped as Scripture with Genesis, Law, Chronicles, Psalms, etc. from a wide variety of authors from different perspectives. I’ve found a lot of material online about it, and I think when I’ve finished it, it will become a reference on my bookshelf.

One comment

  1. Monica Chapman · · Reply

    I heard Marcus Borg speak on Progressive Christianity in Denver several weeks ago – it was excellent – and I’m looking forward to reading his book. Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

